Mayor not invited to annual Christmas light switch on

ELLESMERE Port’s Mayor has expressed his annoyance after not being invited to this year’s Christmas light switch on.

Councillor Brian Jones has said he won’t be attending McArthurGlen’s Cheshire Oaks annual Christmas event after not receiving an invitation.

The newly elected Mayor who opened the centre back in 1989 said:“Tell them the Mayor is deeply upset, the fact that I’m the councillor for Whitby means it’s within my area. I’ve still got the plaque on the wall behind me for the commencement of the centre, so you would think they would have invited me.”

“It annoys me that I haven’t been invited, I don’t expect to turn the lights on but I’d expect the Mayor of Ellesmere Port to be invited out of courtesy.”

The shopping centre which is set to launch its Christmas season tomorrow, will be unveiling the UK’s largest Christmas tree showing off more than 100,000 lights and is set to get off with a bang with firework displays and Europe’s first walk-in Christmas tree.

The Mayor added: “All the best of luck to them, I hope they have tremendous crowds down there, I know they have pop stars which will bring in crowds but you would just think they would have invited the Mayor.”

Students from West Cheshire’s College are also set to perform at this year’s big event with various festive bands and local choirs.

Leave a Reply

